Riot Games is working with third party studios to make single-player League of Legends games

0

Teeming up.

Riot Games has announced Riot Forge, a new publishing label which will work with third-party studios to make “completable” League of Legends games.

These games will be created by partner studios and published by Riot Forge. They’ll be available on a range of platforms and will be totally different to the competitive, online only League of Legends games released so far.

Riot Games’ Communications Lead Bret Forbus cleared up what it meant by “completable” games over on Twitter. Its main focus is to expand the League of Legends universe with single-player, story driven games, and it makes sense. Riot’s already launched its League based auto battler Teamfight Tactics, and its competitive card game Legends of Runeterra is due to arrive next year. Demand for more experiences in the League universe is high, and this is the only avenue which hasn’t been explored yet.

Several “experienced” studios are already hard at work developing these games, and Riot has said they’ll begin announcing them “when they’re further along”.

Well, turns out we won’t have to wait too long, as we can expect to see something from Riot Forge at The Game Awards which takes place on 12th December, beginning at 5:30pm PT/ 8:30 pm ET/ 1:30am GMT.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.